2010-11 Program

Stephen Peterson, Conductor
Beth Peterson, Conductor

Sunday, October 3 (Bailey Hall, 3:00 pm)

Wind Ensemble

Sun Dance Frank Ticheli
The Courtly Dances from Gloriana Benjamin Britten arr. Jan Bach
The Solitary Dancer Warren Benson
Red Line Tango John Mackey

Wind Symphony

Bugs! Cichy
Rhosymedre Vaughan Williams
Walls of Zion Danner
Blessed Are They Brahms
Puszta Van der Roost

Saturday, November 20 (Bailey Hall, 8:00pm)

Wind Ensemble

Mangulina Paul Basler
Day Dreams Dana Wilson
The Promise of Living Aaron Copland
Apollo Unleashed From Symphony No. 2 Frank Ticheli

Wind Symphony

Children’s March Grainger
Sussex Mummers’ Christmas Carol Grainger
Undertow Mackey
William Byrd Suite Jacob

Cynthia Johnston Turner, Conductor

Sunday, March 13 (Bailey Hall, 3:00pm)

Wind Ensemble

Romanian Overture Thomas Doss
Daydreams Takuma Itoh (www.takumaitoh.com)
Symphony No. 4 David Maslanka

Wind Symphony

Mother Earth David Maslanka(www.davidmaslanka.com)
Salvation is Created
Pavel Tchesnokov
Folk Song Suite
Ralph Vaughan Williams
Concerto for Piano and Wind Ensemble Nancy Galbraith (visiting composer; www.nancygalbraith.com)
(Blaise Bryski, soloist)

Saturday, April 16, 8:00pm (Special Performance as guests at Cornell Jazz Festival)

Wind Ensemble

Riffs Jeff Tyzik (www.jefftyzik.com)
(Drum set feature, John Riley, guest artist; www.johnriley.org)

Saturday, April 30 (Bailey Hall, 8:00 pm)

Guest Artist: Caroline Stinson, Cello (www.carolinestinson.com)
Guest Composers: Steven Bryant (www.stevenbryant.com), Steven Stucky (www.stevenstucky.com), Jesse Jones (www.jessejonescomposer.com)

Wind Symphony

Chester William Schuman
Chester Leaps In Steven Bryant
Crossing Parallels Kathy Salfelder
Galop Arthur Bird

Wind Ensemble

Voyages Steven Stucky
Cello Concerto Premiere Steven Bryant
Through the Veil Jesse Jones (for Wind Ensemble and 3 amplified sopranos)
Comedian’s Galop Dmitri Kabelevsky


Our Mission

CU Winds unites student musicians in an ensemble dedicated to the study and performance of emerging and traditional wind repertoire. We explore music making as a vehicle for cross-cultural exchange and collaboration, and in doing so support Cornell's core values of public engagement and global awareness.