2018-19 Performance Calendar

Saturday, September 29, 3pm, Bailey Hall
“Something Old, Something New”

Sonata pian’e forte Giovanni Gabrieli
Sinfonia for Winds Gaetano Donizetti
Overture to “Colas Breugnon” Dmitri Kabalevsky/trans. Donald Hunsberger
Huldigungsmarsch Richard Wagner
Southern Harmony Donald Grantham

Saturday, November 17, 7pm, Bailey Hall
“Symphonic Dances”

With the USAF Heritage of America Band & Cornell Dancers choreographed by Jumay Chu

Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs Leonard Bernstein
Selections from “The Danserye” Tielman Susato/trans. Patrick Dunnigan
Montuno Roberto Sierra/trans. James Spinazzola
Symphonic Dances from “West Side Story” Bernstein/trans. Paul Lavender

Saturday, January 12, Jacmel, Haiti

With musicians from L’Ecole de Musique Sainte Trinité, The Rev. David Cesar, conductor

Featuring the world premiere of a new composition by Haitian-American composer Sydney Guillaume <>

Tuesday, January 15, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, Carol Morgan School

Program TBA

Saturday, March 2, 3pm, Bailey Hall

Juliana Pepinsky, flute
Barry Sharp, guest composer
With the Ithaca High School Wind Ensemble

Capriccio Espagnol Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov/trans. Lawrence Odom
“Silver Lining” Flute Concerto Frank Ticheli
Familiar Landscapes Barry Sharp (premiere)
Romanian Overture Thomas Doss

Sunday, April 14, 7pm, Klarman Hall
Cornell Wind Octet

With vocalists Brigid Lucey & Austin Cody

Serenade in E-flat, K. 375 W.A. Mozart        
Bastien und Bastienne Mozart/trans. James Spinazzola

Sunday, May 5, 3pm, Bailey Hall

Daniel Sabzghabaei, guest composer
With the Cornell Chorale & Chamber Singers, Stephen Spinelli conductor

Percy Grainger and Igor Stravinsky were born weeks apart in the summer of 1882.  This afternoon we examine their remarkable careers and highly personal compositional styles, and highlight two masterworks: Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy (1937), and Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms (1930).  

Rocky Point Holiday Ron Nelson
Lincolnshire Posy
Percy Grainger
New Work Daniel Sabzghabaei (premiere)
Aurora Awakes John Mackey
Symphony of Psalms




Our Mission

CU Winds unites student musicians in an ensemble dedicated to the study and performance of emerging and traditional wind repertoire. We explore music making as a vehicle for cross-cultural exchange and collaboration, and in doing so support Cornell's core values of public engagement and global awareness.